first_imgKane Williamson was back as the T20 captain as New Zealand announced their squad for the T20I series against India, starting February 6. Williamson had missed the one-off T20I against Sri Lanka but was back in the team replacing Henry Nicholls. India and New Zealand will play each other in three T20Is in Wellington, Auckland and Hamilton.Apart from Williamson’s return, New Zealand also gave maiden call-ups to all-rounder Daryl Mitchell and pacer Blair Tickner. Mitchell has earned the call-up after putting solid performances in the Super Smash and for New Zealand A in one-day cricket.Tickner, on the other hand, will join the team in Hamilton for the third T20I, replacing Lockie Ferguson.We have squad news ahead of the T20I series against India starting in Wellington on Waitangi Day. | #NZvIND (@BLACKCAPS) January 30, 2019″Both Daryl and Blair have been rewarded for the strong form they’ve produced in domestic cricket,” said selector Gavin Larsen.”They’ve been there or thereabouts for most of the season and both featured in our NZ A short-format teams.”Daryl has shown his value with the bat and also tends to bowl at some tough times for the Knights, and Blair is well-respected among his team-mates and opponents alike as someone who bowls a heavy ball at good pace.”Doug Bracewell has retained his place in the squad after he was brought in as replacement for the injured Jimmy Neesham ahead of the recent T20I against Sri Lanka.advertisementThe three-match T20I series will be held as double-headers, where India women will play New Zealand women before the men on the same day and same pitch.New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (C), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson (1st and 2nd T20Is) , Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (WK), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner (3rd T20I)Also Read | MS Dhoni spotted at nets after missing out third ODI vs New ZealandAlso Read | Tough to swallow defeat but India have been far too good, says Ross TaylorAlso Read | New Zealand recall Jimmy Neesham, Todd Astle for final two ODIs vs IndiaAlso Read | Scott Styris trolls New Zealand after Virat Kohli’s India win ODI serieslast_img

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *