first_imgThe Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) ignored Shoaib Malik and Danish Kaneria while announcing the 2011 World Cup preliminary squad on Tuesday.However, wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal’s name figures in the 30-member probable list.The PCB released the initial squad for the World Cup after a nearly three-hour meeting of the national selection committee. “Apparently these two players were not able to satisfy the cricket board’s integrity committee about their recent activities but Kamran managed to win the confidence of the Board back by submitting all relevant documents the integrity committee asked for,” one PCB source said.As expected the squad does not include players who were involved in the spot-fixing scandal – Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Asif and Salman Butt. The trio are being examined by an independent Anti-Corruption Tribunal formed by the International Cricket Council (ICC).Kamran, Malik, Kaneira and Rana Naved too are under the ICC scanner and the PCB had sought a deadline of January 5 from the ICC to finalise their preliminary squad because of the ongoing inquiry.Rana was also apparently found not guilty of any links with bookmakers and has been included in the preliminary squad. The squad also includes some new faces.The probables: Shahid Afridi, Muhammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shahzad, Nasir Jamshed, Asad Ali, Umar Akmal, Younis Khan, Muhammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Sohail Tanvir, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Tanvir Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Abdul Rehman, Abdul Razzaq, Kamran Akmal, Salman Ahmed, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Taufiq Umar, Zulfiqar Babar, Rana Naved, Yasir Arafat, Yasir Shah, Aizaz Cheema and Naved Yasin.advertisement- With PTI inputslast_img

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *