first_imgSouthland Conference Player and Forward of the Year Lucy Ashworth, along with Newcomer of the Year and teammate Esther Okoronkwo, appeared on the first team. A second-team all-region honoree, Henry used her speed to anchor a Demons back line that held opponents to just over eight shots per game in Southland regular-season matches. She limited quality chances as well with just about half of those shots going on goal. Henry played a vital role in the team advancing to the Southland Conference Tournament championship match for the first time since 2005. Lamar’s Juana Plata and Abilene Christian’s Michelle Mulrooney earned spots on the all-region third team. Mulrooney guided a defense that allowed just 13 goals in conference games and 13.8 shots per game in all contests with just 41 percent of those shots on frame. Plata logged 900 minutes on the back line in Southland play and tallied three assists. Third Team                                                      Pos.       Player                                  Class      School                                                HometownGK         Tristin Stuteville                Sr.          Ball State University                       Kansas City, Mo.D            Juana Plata                        So.         Lamar University                            Houston, TexasD            Hannah Anderson            Fr.          Texas Tech University                    Plano, TexasD            Michelle Mulrooney       Sr.          Abilene Christian University        Lodi, Calif.D            Ashley Amato                    Sr.          University of Akron                         Pittsburgh, Pa.M           Jaci Jones                           Sr.          Oklahoma State University           Mustang, Okla.M           Kaylee Dao                        Sr.          University of Oklahoma                 Tulsa, Okla.M           Vital Kats                            Jr.           Kent State University                     Toronto, Ont.M           Alivia Milesky                    Sr.          Ohio University                                Plain City, OhioM           Marcy Barberic                 Jr.           University at Buffalo                      Grand Island, N.Y.F             Abby Townsend                So.         Ohio University                                Powell, OhioF             Morgan Otteson               So           Western Michigan University       Grand Rapids, Mich.F             Sabrina McNeill                Jr.           Eastern Michigan University         Whitby, Ont.F             Simone Wark                    Sr.          Loyola University Chicago            Whitby, Ont. Second Team                                                  Pos.       Player                                  Class      School                                                HometownGK             Rylee Foster                      Sr.          West Virginia University                Cambridge, Ont.D            Jordan Brewster               So.         West Virginia University                North Canton, OhioD            Nicole Henry                     So.         Northwestern State University  Tomball, TexasD            Charme Morgan               Jr.           Oklahoma State University           Frisco, TexasD            Maureen Kennedy           Sr.          Bowling Green State University   Cypress, Calif.D            Madison Laudeman         Sr.          Loyola University Chicago            Chesterfield, Mo.M           Shay Johnson                   Sr.          Abilene Christian University        Coppell, TexasM           Grace Yochum                  So.         Oklahoma State University           Houston, TexasM           Ceri Holland                       Jr.           University of Kansas                       West Yorkshire, EnglandM           Jordie Harr                         Jr.           Texas Tech University                    Sachse, TexasF             Christina Arteaga            Jr.           Abilene Christian University        Pflugerville, TexasF             Messiah Bright                  So.         Texas Christian University             Dallas, TexasF             Cyera Hintzen                    Sr.          University of Texas                         Garland, TexasF             Nikki Cox                            Jr.           Bowling Green State University   Granville, Ohio Joining Henry on the second team was Abilene Christian senior and Southland Conference Midfielder of the Year Shay Johnson, who was a key to the Wildcats’ transition game and aided a defense that ranked third in the league in goals allowed. She made the most of her three goals in conference play as two of them went down as game-winners. Johnson finished the year with six goals and a pair of assists. Lamar and Abilene Christian lead the way with three selections each, and Southland Conference Defender of the Year Nicole Henry of Northwestern State rounded out the league’s contingent. 2019 United Soccer Coaches NCAA Division I Women’s All-Midwest RegionFirst Team                                                       Pos.       Player                                  Class      School                                                               HometownGK         Maddie White                   Fr.          Texas Tech University                                   Rockwall, TexasD            Kim Rodriguez                   Jr.           Oklahoma State University                          Porter, TexasD            Cassie Hiatt                        So.         Texas Tech University                                   Parker, Colo.D            Addisyn Merrick               Sr.          University of Kansas                       Lee’s Summit, Mo.D            Gurjeena Jandu                Sr.          University at Buffalo                      Mississauga, Ont.M           Julia Grosso                       So.         University of Texas                         Vancouver, B.C.M           Chelsee Washington       Sr.          Bowling Green State University   Carrollton, TexasM           Kate Del Fava                    Sr.          Illinois State University                  Kenosha, Wis.M           Yazmeen Ryan                  Jr.           Texas Christian University             Norman, TexasM           Nicky Potts                        Jr.           Ball State University                       Nuneaton, EnglandF             Kirsten Davis                     Jr.           Texas Tech University                    St. Louis, Mo.F             Katie Mcclure                    Sr.          University of Kansas                       Wichita, Kan.F             Lucy Ashworth                 Jr.           Lamar University                            Wigan, EnglandF             Esther Okoronkwo          Jr.           Lamar University                            Richmond, Texas Earning a third-straight first-team all-conference nod, ACU forward Christina Arteaga was named second-team all-region after scoring 12 goals this fall – the most in a single season in her three-year career. The Pflugerville, Texas, native ranked third behind Ashworth and Okoronkwo in conference play in both goals (nine) and points (22). Arteaga also picked up four assists. Okoronkwo (60) and Ashworth (59) finished 1-2 in the conference and ranked in the top four nationally in points and goals this season. The Cardinal pair also occupied the top two spots in shots on goal and assists. Okoronkwo paced the league with 25 goals while Ashworth recorded the most assists (17) – both of which marked Southland single-season records. FRISCO, Texas – Seven Southland Conference women’s soccer student-athletes were named to the 2019 United Soccer Coaches All-Midwest Region teams, announced by the organization Tuesday.last_img

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *