first_imgMutel and doubles partner Polina Ivanova each were automatically selected to the top team after being named to the all-conference first team. QiLi Ma and Amiru Shimoguchi represent UCA on the top team, Phonexay Chitdara and Sarah Jurakova are first-team selections for the Cowgirls, and Dalina Dahlmans and Dani Raygadas are on the team for the Lions. Raygadas is the only automatic selection for earning a spot on the CoSIDA Google Cloud All-District Team. The 2018 Southland Player of the Year excelled this season beyond the court. The junior from Yaroslavl, Russia, has a 3.76 GPA as a business administration major. She held onto this average following a year that saw her land the top athletic accolade with a 10-1 season at the top flight in singles. She also went 10-0 in doubles play at the No. 1 line to earn first team all-conference honors for singles and doubles. Northwestern State, Central Arkansas, McNeese and Southeastern Louisiana each secured two automatic selections on the first team with Texas A&M-Corpus Christi picking up the last spot. Sarah Jurakova* Sr. McNeese Trnava, Slovakia Sports and Wellness Management 3.57 Second Team Polina Ivanova* Sr. Northwestern State Moscow, Russia Business Administration; Accounting 3.67 FRISCO, Texas – Northwestern State’s Polina Mutel is the 2018 Women’s Tennis Student-Athlete of the Year, the league announced Tuesday with its all-academic teams. All yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. The All-Academic teams are voted on by a head coach, sports information director and academic/compliance staff member from each Southland Conference institution. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s competition to qualify for All-Academic selection. Nominees who were also named to the All-Conference First Team or CoSIDA Academic All-District team are automatically named Southland All-Academic. Marli Van Heerden Jr. Central Arkansas George, South Africa Accounting 3.84 Phonexay Chitdara* So. McNeese Belgium Business Administration 3.47 Marli Van Heerden tallied a second-team selection for UCA with a 3.84 GPA in accounting, and NSU’s Judit Castillo registered the final spot on the teams with a 3.94 GPA in health and exercise science. ^Student-Athlete of the Year*-Automatic Selection2-Two-Time All-Academic Selection3-Three-Time All-Academic Selection 2018 Southland Women’s Tennis All-Academic TeamsStudent-Athlete of the Year: Polina Mutel, Northwestern StateFirst Team Dany Raygadas* Sr. Southeastern La. Queretaro, Mexico Computer Science 4.00 QiLi Ma*2 Jr. Central Arkansas Tainan, Taiwan Psychology 3.73 Polina Mutel^* Jr. Northwestern State Yaroslavl, Russia Business Administration 3.76 Judit Castillo So. Northwestern State Teruel, Spain Health and Exercise Science 3.94 Hannah Brett of McNeese earned her third all-academic selection, a 4.00 GPA holder in sports and wellness management. Sam Houston State’s Fabienne Gettwart was voted to the second team with a 3.73 GPA in marketing and economics. Marina Vicens Miquel*2 Jr. A&M-Corpus Christi Port de Pollenca, Mallorca, Spain Computer Science 3.92 Fabienne Gettwart Sr. Sam Houston State Dreiech, Hessen, Germany Marketing/Economics 3.73 Name Class School Hometown Major GPA The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 13 member schools, votes for the student-athlete of the year. The Southland student-athlete of the year award is presented to one student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees must have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale, and demonstrated athletics achievement for at least two years at the nominating institution. Amiru Shimoguchi* Sr. Central Arkansas Yokahoma-shi, Japan Dalina Dahlmans* Sr. Southeastern La. Selfkant Hillensberg, Germany Psychology 3.78 Hannah Brett3 Sr. McNeese Wokingham, Berkshire Sports and Wellness Management 4.00 Name Class School Hometown Major GPA Marina Vicens Miquel is the lone Islander on the all-academic teams.last_img

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *